https://www.accessnow.org:443/about-us/
  • Policy

    Policy furthers Access Now’s mission by developing and promoting rights-respecting practices and policies. We seek to advance laws and global norms to affect long-term systemic change in the area of digital rights and online security, developing insightful, rights-based, and well-researched policy guidance to governments, corporations, and civil society.

  • Advocacy

    Advocacy leverages deep user engagement, bold visual advocacy, and innovative campaign tactics. Our campaigns bring our policy positions and advocacy asks straight to the halls of parliaments and corporate boardrooms, package and deliver secure technologies to protect users at risk, and mobilize global internet users to pressure the powerful.

  • Tech

    Tech provides technology solutions and real-time advice for users at risk in circumstances where communications are not open, free, or safe. Through our 24/7 Digital Security Helpline, we offer technical guidance and incident response to inform and support activists, journalists, human rights defenders, and civil society actors on the ground.

Our Team

Daniel_photo

San Jose

Daniel Bedoya Arroyo

Daniel (Email: daniel@accessnow.org; PGP Key: 0xC21FA059) is the Incident Response Manager at Access Now. He works in Access Now's Costa Rica Office. He is…

Tech
wafaphoto

Tunis

Wafa Ben Hassine

Wafa Ben Hassine (Email: wafa@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xC0E89622, Fingerprint: D972 BE61 2D3D 8F8F CB71 5FBA 6B59 0BAF C0E8 9622) leads Access Now’s policy and…

Policy
Gustaf_photo

San Jose

Gustaf Björksten

Gustaf (Email: gustaf@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA70A0F7B) has been gaining professional experience as a technologist and information security specialist since 1994, most recently in the…

Tech
Nerida_photo

New York

Nerida Brownlee

Nerida's (Email: nerida@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x24145805) focus as a member of the Ops team is to drive the steady growth of Access' Human Resources…

Ops
Kim_photo

New York

Kim Burton

Kim (Email: kim@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x62160B47) is the Digital Security Documentation Coordinator for the NYC office. Her goal is to create accessible content that…

Tech
Marcos_photo

San Jose

Marcos Calderon

Marcos (Email: marcos@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xDD3201FD) is a Security Incident Handler in the Access Costa Rica Office. He is finishing his Bachelor Degree in…

Tech
Michael_photo

Berlin

Michael Carbone

Michael (email: michael@accessnow.org, PGP key ID: 0x63FC4D2684A733B4) is the Manager of Security Education, where he provides advice to civil society groups and human rights…

Tech
Mohamed_photo

Tunis

Mohamed Chennoufi

Mohamed (Email: mohamed@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x254414D4) is a security incident shift lead at Access Now. He is a computer science engineer. He graduated from…

Tech
Nick_photo

New York

Nick Dagostino

Nick (Email: nickd@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x4DC5EF9C) coordinates the leading event on the future of the internet, and has a passion for bringing people together…

Advocacy
fanny_photo

Brussels

Fanny Hidvegi

Fanny Hidvegi (Email: fanny@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x0CE3B80A, Fingerprint: 539D E886 CD1B A997 D503 0E20 A5E5 E8F6 0CE3 B80A) is Access Now’s European Policy Manager…

Policy
Raman_photo

New Dehli

Raman Jit Singh Chima

Raman Jit Singh Chima (Email: raman@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x2A186000) serves as Policy Director at Access, leading the organisation's team of global policy staff in…

Policy
Ephraim_photo

Nairobi

Ephraim Percy Kenyanito

Ephraim (Email: ephraim@accessnow.org, PGP Key: E6BA8DC1) is the Sub-Saharan Africa Policy Analyst at Access Now working on the connection between internet policy and human…

Policy
Islam_photo

Tunis

Islam Khoufi

Islam (Email: islam@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA616A569) joined Access in 2014. She works as operations manager for the Tunis office. Islam worked in logistics for…

Ops
Melissa_photo

New York

Melissa Kim

Melissa (Email: melissa@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xE8FD7A4B) works closely with the Executive Director to provide the necessary support to further his and Access's goals in…

Ops
Nina_photo

Brussels

Nina Komakhidze

Nina (Email: nina@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x8AD196B3, Fingerprint: 0B3D 4696 D6D7 1074 73D7 1B13 5C9A 958C 8AD1 96B3) works at Access Now as the Regional…

Ops
Lucie_photo

Brussels

Lucie Krahulcova

Lucie (Email: lucie@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x8419586B) is our new policy associate in the Access Now Brussels office. She has a BA in International Relations…

Policy
Josh_photo

USA

Josh Levy

Josh Levy (Email: josh@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x84C9F275) is Advocacy Director at Access. He's worked for years at the intersections of technology, politics and activism.…

Advocacy
Anqi_photo

New York

Anqi Li

Anqi (Email: anqi@accessnow.org; PGP Key: 0x62F35D1E) is the Design Lead at Access Now. Her focus is on user experience and digital engagement. With problem-solving…

Advocacy
Rogelio_photo

San Jose

Rogelio Lopez

Rogelio (Email: rogelio@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA3AF5A90) studied CS at Universidad de Costa Rica. He has been a software developer for the corporate world for…

Tech
Estelle_photo

Brussels

Estelle Massé

Estelle (Email: estelle@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x7A755A5F) is a Senior Policy Analyst at our Brussels office. Her work focuses on Data Protection, Privacy, Surveillance, Net…

Policy
Peter M_photo

New York

Peter Micek

Peter Micek (Email: peter@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA5BD70B0) leads the Access policy team's business and human rights work, advocating for a more rights-respecting telecom and…

Policy
Drew_photo

Washington D.C.

Drew Mitnick

Drew (Email: drew@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA7B4A0FF) works on cybersecurity, digital due process, and privacy. He has experience working on human rights in Asia and…

Policy
Jose_photo

Manila

Jose Clemente Olaivar

JC Olaivar is Security Incident Handler Shift Lead at Access Now in Manila. Before joining Access Now, he worked in IT security in multiple…

Tech
Deji_photo

New York

Deji Olukotun

As a member of the advocacy team, Deji Olukotun (Email: deji@accessnow.org; PGP Key: 0x6012CDA8) manages Access' global campaigns to protect the open internet, stop…

Advocacy
Javier_photo

Córdoba

Javier Pallero

Javier (Email: javier@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xEBFD028A) is Access' Policy Analyst for Latin America. Before joining Access, he worked for several years with digital rights…

Policy
Peter S_photo

San Jose

Peter Saugman

Peter (Email: peters@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA5FA6FA6) is bringing extensive international work experience to Access, that spans the USA, Indonesia, Singapore, Venezuela, Belgium, Costa Rica,…

Ops
Hassen_photo

Tunis

Hassen Selmi

Hassen (Email: hassen@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x3EF06D5C) has been a a security incident handler at Access since October 2014. He graduated from National School Of…

Tech
Brett_photo

New York

Brett Solomon

Brett (Email: brett@accessnow.org; PGP Key: 0x4EDC17EB) is co-founder and Executive Director of Access (accessnow.org). Access defends and extends the digital rights of users at…

Joe_photo

New York

Joe Steele

Joe (Email: joseph@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x066D312E) is responsible for supporting and organizing much of the day-to-day work of the staff, as well as overseeing…

Ops
Amie_photo

Washington D.C.

Amie Stepanovich

Amie Stepanovich (Phone Extension: x702, Email: amie@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x1C1DA0C7) works to ensure that laws and policies on surveillance and cybersecurity recognize and respect…

Policy
Carolyn_photo

Washington D.C.

Carolyn Tackett

Carolyn (Email: carolyn@accessnow.org , PGP Key: 0xA9C98C76) first joined the Access advocacy team as an intern in 2012. She now supports the team's work…

Advocacy
Rian_photo

Washington D.C.

Rian Wanstreet

Rian (Email: rian@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x24F54E04) works to ensure that at-risk actors and organizations working on digital rights have the resources they need to…

Ops
Donna

USA

Donna Wentworth

Donna (Email: donna@accessnow.org , PGP fingerprint: 7895 1FE9 7993 57D4 5DAD 51B2 5664 4A60 077B 2130) is Strategic Communications Manager at Access Now, developing…

Advocacy
Ben_photo

New York

Ben Whelan

Ben (Email: ben@accessnow.org; PGP Key: 0x1F2EC60E) works as Global Risk and Operations Manager for Access, which involves opening and supporting our global offices, organization…

Ops
Nathan_photo

Washington D.C.

Nathan White

Nathan White (Email: nathan@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x9030A74E) is the Senior Legislative Manager for the Access advocacy team. A former communications director in the U.S.…

Advocacy
Kevin_photo

New York

Kevin Willits

Kevin (Email: kevinw@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x0657E1E7) is the Grants Administrator for Access Now, which involves ensuring that organizations and activists working to advance digital…

Ops

Our Board

Adrew_photo

Andrew Cohen

Andrew Cohen is a New York City-based internet entrepreneur and media executive. Today he is the CEO of Perch, an early-stage “Internet of Things”…

Andrew McLaughlin

Andrew McLaughlin

Andrew McLaughlin is a partner at betaworks, a technology and media start-up studio based in New York City. He also serves as CEO of…

Brett_photo

Brett Solomon

Brett (Email: brett@accessnow.org; PGP Key: 0x4EDC17EB) is co-founder and Executive Director of Access (accessnow.org). Access defends and extends the digital rights of users at…

Esra'a Al Shafei

Esra'a Al Shafei

Esra'a Al Shafei is the founder and director of Mideast Youth, a network of online platforms that amplify under-reported and marginalized voices throughout the…

ronaldo_photo

Ronaldo Lemos

Ronaldo Lemos is an internationally respected Brazilian scholar and commentator on intellectual property, culture, and technology. He founded the Center for Technology & Society…

yvette new

Yvette Albderdingk Thijm

Yvette is the Executive Director of WITNESS, an international nonprofit organization that empowers human rights defenders to use video to fight injustice, and to…

Help keep the internet open and secure

Subscribe to our action alerts and weekly newsletter

Your info is secure with us.