https://www.accessnow.org:443/about-us/
  • Policy

    Policy furthers Access Now’s mission by developing and promoting rights-respecting practices and policies. We seek to advance laws and global norms to affect long-term systemic change in the area of digital rights and online security, developing insightful, rights-based, and well-researched policy guidance to governments, corporations, and civil society.

  • Advocacy

    Advocacy leverages deep user engagement, bold visual advocacy, and innovative campaign tactics. Our campaigns bring our policy positions and advocacy asks straight to the halls of parliaments and corporate boardrooms, package and deliver secure technologies to protect users at risk, and mobilize global internet users to pressure the powerful.

  • Tech

    Tech provides technology solutions and real-time advice for users at risk in circumstances where communications are not open, free, or safe. Through our 24/7 Digital Security Helpline, we offer technical guidance and incident response to inform and support activists, journalists, human rights defenders, and civil society actors on the ground.

Meet Our Team

World Map of Access Now locations

San Jose

Daniel Bedoya Arroyo

Incident Response Manager

Daniel (email: daniel@accessnow.org) is the Incident Response Manager at Access Now. He works in Access Now's Costa Rica Office. He is currently working on…

Tech

Tunis

Wafa Ben-Hassine

MENA Policy Analyst

Wafa Ben-Hassine (email: wafa@accessnow.org) leads Access Now’s policy and advocacy arms in the Middle East and North Africa region (MENA) as the organization’s local…

Policy

San Jose

Gustaf Björksten

Chief Technologist

Gustaf (email: gustaf@accessnow.org) has been gaining professional experience as a technologist and information security specialist since 1994, most recently in the area of surveillance…

Tech

New York

Nerida Brownlee

Director of Finances and Human Resources

Nerida's (email: nerida@accessnow.org) focus as a member of the Ops team is to drive the steady growth of Access Now's human resources and financial…

Ops

Berlin

Michael Carbone

Manager of Security Education

Michael (email: michael@accessnow.org) is the Manager of Security Education, where he provides advice to civil society groups and human rights defenders to stay digitally…

Tech

Tunis

Mohamed Chennoufi

Tunis Security Shift Lead

Mohamed (email: mohamed@accessnow.org) is a security incident shift lead at Access Now. He is a computer science engineer. He graduated from the Institut Supérieur…

Tech

New York

Nick Dagostino

RightsCon Coordinator

Nick (email: nickd@accessnow.org) coordinates the leading event on the future of the internet, and has a passion for bringing people together to tackle the…

Advocacy

New York

Billie Goodman

Grants Program Manager

Billie (email: billie@accessnow.org) manages the Access Now Grants program, which supports civil society organizations and activists working to advance digital rights and human rights…

Ops

Brussels

Fanny Hidvegi

European Policy Manager

Fanny Hidvegi (email: fanny@accessnow.org) is Access Now’s European Policy Manager based in Brussels. Previously, Fanny was International Privacy Fellow at the Electronic Privacy Information…

Policy

New Dehli

Raman Jit Singh Chima

Policy Director

Raman Jit Singh Chima (email: raman@accessnow.org) serves as Policy Director at Access Now, leading the organisation's team of global policy staff in protecting an…

Policy

Tunis

Islam Khoufi

Tunis Office Operations Manager

Islam (email: islam@accessnow.org) joined Access Now in 2014. She works as operations manager for the Tunis office. Islam worked in logistics for civil society…

Ops

New York

Melissa Kim

Operations and Development Manager

Melissa (email: melissa@accessnow.org) works closely with the Executive Director to provide the necessary support to further his and Access Now's goals in defending and…

Ops

Brussels

Nina Komakhidze

European Operations Manager

Nina (email: nina@accessnow.org) works at Access Now as the Operations Manager of the Brussels office, managing the administration, compliance, HR and finances of the…

Ops

Tunis

Akrem Kouki

Security Incident Handler

Akrem (email: akrem@accessnow.org) is a security incident handler at Access Now. He graduated from the Institut Supérieur d'Informatique of Tunis el Manar (ISI) in…

Tech

Brussels

Lucie Krahulcova

Policy Associate

Lucie (email: lucie@accessnow.org) is our policy associate in the Access Now Brussels office. She has a BA in International Relations and European Studies from…

Policy

New York

Anqi Li

Visual Designer

Anqi (email: anqi@accessnow.org) is the Design Lead at Access Now. Her focus is on user experience and digital engagement. With problem-solving design thinking, she…

Advocacy

San Jose

Rogelio Lopez

San Jose Security Incident Handler

Rogelio (email: rogelio@accessnow.org) studied CS at Universidad de Costa Rica. He was a software developer for the corporate world for over 5 years and…

Tech

Brussels

Estelle Massé

Senior Policy Analyst

Estelle (email: estelle@accessnow.org) is a Senior Policy Analyst at our Brussels office. Her work focuses on data protection, privacy, surveillance, Net Neutrality, and trade.…

Policy

New York

Peter Micek

General Counsel

Peter Micek (email: peter@accessnow.org) leads the Access Now policy team's business and human rights work, advocating for a more rights-respecting telecom and tech sector.…

Policy

Washington D.C.

Drew Mitnick

Policy Counsel

Drew (email: drew@accessnow.org) works on cybersecurity, digital due process, and privacy. He has experience working on human rights in Asia and the United States.…

Policy

Other Location

Victor Novikov

Security Incident Handler

Victor (email: victor@accessnow.org) is a Security Incident Handler at Access Now. His duty is to provide digital security advice for users at risk. Victor…

Tech

Manila

Jose Clemente Olaivar

Security Incident Handler Shift Lead

JC Olaivar (email: jc@accessnow.org) is Security Incident Handler Shift Lead at Access Now in Manila. Before joining Access Now, he worked in IT security…

Tech

New York

Deji Olukotun

Senior Global Advocacy Manager

As a member of the advocacy team, Deji Bryce Olukotun (email: deji@accessnow.org) manages Access Now's global campaigns on fighting internet shutdowns, the open internet,…

Advocacy

Berlin

Floriana Pagano

Digital Security Documentation Coordinator

Floriana (email: floriana@accessnow.org) has been an activist for all her adult life. Struck by the possibilities of experimenting with identities in the internet and…

Tech

Córdoba

Javier Pallero

Policy Analyst

Javier (email: javier@accessnow.org) is Access Now's Policy Analyst for Latin America. Before joining Access Now, he worked for several years with digital rights organizations…

Policy

San Jose

Diana Fernández Sánchez

Security Incident Handler

Diana (email: diana@accessnow.org) works as a Security Incident Handler for Access Now's Costa Rica team. She is willing to get involved in the defense…

Tech

San Jose

Peter Saugman

Costa Rica Office Operations Associate

Peter (email: peters@accessnow.org) is bringing extensive international work experience to Access Now, that spans the USA, Indonesia, Singapore, Venezuela, Belgium, Costa Rica, Brazil, Saudi…

Ops

Tunis

Hassen Selmi

Tunis Incident Security Handler

Hassen (email: hassen@accessnow.org) has been a a security incident handler at Access Now since October 2014. He graduated from National School Of Computer Science(ENSI)-Tunisia,…

Tech

New York

Brett Solomon

Executive Director

Brett (email: brett@accessnow.org) is co-founder and Executive Director of Access Now (accessnow.org). Access Now defends and extends the digital rights of users at risk…

Policy

New York

Joe Steele

Director of Organizational Development and Impact

Joe (email: joseph@accessnow.org) is responsible for supporting and organizing much of the day-to-day work of the staff, as well as overseeing the organizational budget…

Ops

Washington D.C.

Amie Stepanovich

U.S. Policy Manager

Amie Stepanovich (Phone Extension: +1-202-573-4721, Email: amie@accessnow.org) works to ensure that laws and policies on surveillance and cybersecurity recognize and respect human rights. At…

Policy

San Jose

Carolyn Tackett

Digital Engagement Manager

As the Digital Engagement Manager at Access Now, Carolyn (email: carolyn@accessnow.org) works with a diverse team to design advocacy campaigns, raise awareness, and fight…

Advocacy

USA

Donna Wentworth

Strategic Communications Manager

Donna (email: donna@accessnow.org) is Strategic Communications Manager at Access Now, developing and implementing strategies to increase the impact of the organization’s advocacy initiatives. She…

Advocacy

New York

Ben Whelan

Global Risk and Operations Manager

Ben (email: ben@accessnow.org) works as Global Risk and Operations Manager for Access Now, which involves opening and supporting our global offices, organization growth, supporting…

Ops

Washington D.C.

Nathan White

Senior Legislative Manager

Nathan White (Email: nathan@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x9030A74E) is the Senior Legislative Manager for the Access advocacy team. A former communications director in the U.S.…

Advocacy

New York

Kevin Willits

Grants Program Officer

Kevin (Email: kevinw@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x0657E1E7) is the Grants Program Officer for Access Now, which involves ensuring that organizations and activists working to advance…

Ops

Global

We are hiring!

See our job openings

Find out what openings we have at Access Now!

Our Board

Other Location

Andrew Cohen

Board

Andrew Cohen is a New York City-based internet entrepreneur and media executive. Today he is the CEO of Perch, an early-stage “Internet of Things”…

Other Location

Andrew McLaughlin

President

Andrew McLaughlin is a partner at betaworks, a technology and media start-up studio based in New York City. He also serves as CEO of…

New York

Brett Solomon

Executive Director

Brett (email: brett@accessnow.org) is co-founder and Executive Director of Access Now (accessnow.org). Access Now defends and extends the digital rights of users at risk…

Other Location

Esra'a Al Shafei

Board

Esra'a Al Shafei is the founder and director of Mideast Youth, a network of online platforms that amplify under-reported and marginalized voices throughout the…

Other Location

Ronaldo Lemos

Board

Ronaldo Lemos is an internationally respected Brazilian scholar and commentator on intellectual property, culture, and technology. He founded the Center for Technology & Society…

Other Location

Yvette Albderdingk Thijm

Treasurer

Yvette is the Executive Director of WITNESS, an international nonprofit organization that empowers human rights defenders to use video to fight injustice, and to…

Building Impact

  • Partnerships

  • Accreditations

  • Affiliations

Help keep the internet open and secure

Subscribe to our action alerts and weekly newsletter

Your info is secure with us.