https://www.accessnow.org:443/about-us/
  • Policy

    Policy furthers Access Now’s mission by developing and promoting rights-respecting practices and policies. We seek to advance laws and global norms to affect long-term systemic change in the area of digital rights and online security, developing insightful, rights-based, and well-researched policy guidance to governments, corporations, and civil society.

  • Advocacy

    Advocacy leverages deep user engagement, bold visual advocacy, and innovative campaign tactics. Our campaigns bring our policy positions and advocacy asks straight to the halls of parliaments and corporate boardrooms, package and deliver secure technologies to protect users at risk, and mobilize global internet users to pressure the powerful.

  • Tech

    Tech provides technology solutions and real-time advice for users at risk in circumstances where communications are not open, free, or safe. Through our 24/7 Digital Security Helpline, we offer technical guidance and incident response to inform and support activists, journalists, human rights defenders, and civil society actors on the ground.

Meet Our Team

World Map of Access Now locations

San Jose

Daniel Bedoya Arroyo

Incident Response Manager

Daniel (Email: daniel@accessnow.org; PGP Key: 0xC21FA059) is the Incident Response Manager at Access Now. He works in Access Now's Costa Rica Office. He is…

Tech

Tunis

Wafa Ben-Hassine

MENA Policy Analyst

Wafa Ben-Hassine (Email: wafa@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xC0E89622, Fingerprint: D972 BE61 2D3D 8F8F CB71 5FBA 6B59 0BAF C0E8 9622) leads Access Now’s policy and advocacy…

Policy

San Jose

Gustaf Björksten

Chief Technologist

Gustaf (Email: gustaf@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA70A0F7B) has been gaining professional experience as a technologist and information security specialist since 1994, most recently in the…

Tech

New York

Nerida Brownlee

Director of Finances and Human Resources

Nerida's (Email: nerida@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x24145805) focus as a member of the Ops team is to drive the steady growth of Access' Human Resources…

Ops

Berlin

Michael Carbone

Manager of Security Education

Michael (email: michael@accessnow.org, PGP key ID: 0x63FC4D2684A733B4) is the Manager of Security Education, where he provides advice to civil society groups and human rights…

Tech

Tunis

Mohamed Chennoufi

Tunis Security Shift Lead

Mohamed (Email: mohamed@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x254414D4) is a security incident shift lead at Access Now. He is a computer science engineer. He graduated from…

Tech

New York

Nick Dagostino

RightsCon Coordinator

Nick (Email: nickd@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x4DC5EF9C) coordinates the leading event on the future of the internet, and has a passion for bringing people together…

Advocacy

New York

Billie Goodman

Grants Program Manager

Billie (Email: billie@accessnow.org, PGP key: 0xE0609A55, Fingerprint: 2757 1637 9B9C 160A 5545 66C6 CC3D DE44 E060 9A55) manages the Access Now Grants program, which…

Ops

Brussels

Fanny Hidvegi

European Policy Manager

Fanny Hidvegi (Email: fanny@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x0CE3B80A, Fingerprint: 539D E886 CD1B A997 D503 0E20 A5E5 E8F6 0CE3 B80A) is Access Now’s European Policy Manager…

Policy

New Dehli

Raman Jit Singh Chima

Policy Director

Raman Jit Singh Chima (Email: raman@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x2A186000) serves as Policy Director at Access, leading the organisation's team of global policy staff in…

Policy

Tunis

Islam Khoufi

Tunis Office Operations Manager

Islam (Email: islam@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA616A569) joined Access in 2014. She works as operations manager for the Tunis office. Islam worked in logistics for…

Ops

New York

Melissa Kim

Operations and Development Manager

Melissa (Email: melissa@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xE8FD7A4B) works closely with the Executive Director to provide the necessary support to further his and Access's goals in…

Ops

Brussels

Nina Komakhidze

European Operations Manager

Nina (Email: nina@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x8AD196B3, Fingerprint: 0B3D 4696 D6D7 1074 73D7 1B13 5C9A 958C 8AD1 96B3) works at Access Now as the Operations…

Ops

Tunis

Akrem Kouki

Security Incident Handler

Akrem (Email: akrem@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xC9235D31, Fingerprint: 6D89 13D6 9B07 D0B2 A73E 4145 9CA0 3701 C923 5D31) is a security incident handler at Access…

Tech

Brussels

Lucie Krahulcova

Policy Associate

Lucie (Email: lucie@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x8419586B) is our new policy associate in the Access Now Brussels office. She has a BA in International Relations…

Policy

New York

Anqi Li

Visual Designer

Anqi is the Design Lead at Access Now. Her focus is on user experience and digital engagement. With problem-solving design thinking, she develops visual…

Advocacy

San Jose

Rogelio Lopez

San Jose Security Incident Handler

Rogelio (Email: rogelio@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA3AF5A90) studied CS at Universidad de Costa Rica. He has been a software developer for the corporate world for…

Tech

Brussels

Estelle Massé

Senior Policy Analyst

Estelle (Email: estelle@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x7A755A5F) is a Senior Policy Analyst at our Brussels office. Her work focuses on Data Protection, Privacy, Surveillance, Net…

Policy

New York

Peter Micek

Global Policy & Legal Counsel

Peter Micek (Email: peter@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA5BD70B0) leads the Access policy team's business and human rights work, advocating for a more rights-respecting telecom and…

Policy

Washington D.C.

Drew Mitnick

Policy Counsel

Drew (Email: drew@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA7B4A0FF) works on cybersecurity, digital due process, and privacy. He has experience working on human rights in Asia and…

Policy

Other Location

Victor Novikov

Security Incident Handler

Victor (email: victor@accessnow.org, PGP key ID: 0x0BD8D5C2, Fingerprint: 915F E5B4 F55A FC62 F37E 523B C0F4 19EE 0BD8 D5C2) is a Security Incident Handler at…

Tech

Manila

Jose Clemente Olaivar

Security Incident Handler Shift Lead

JC Olaivar is Security Incident Handler Shift Lead at Access Now in Manila. Before joining Access Now, he worked in IT security in multiple…

Tech

New York

Deji Olukotun

Senior Global Advocacy Manager

As a member of the advocacy team, Deji Bryce Olukotun (Email: deji@accessnow.org) manages Access Now's global campaigns on fighting internet shutdowns, the open internet,…

Advocacy

Córdoba

Javier Pallero

Policy Analyst

Javier (Email: javier@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xEBFD028A) is Access' Policy Analyst for Latin America. Before joining Access, he worked for several years with digital rights…

Policy

San Jose

Diana Fernández Sánchez

Security Incident Handler

Diana (Email: diana@accessnow.org; PGP Key:0x9A9674D3, Fingerprint: 46F2 8351 F17D 674C 467F ED57 904F C8BF 9A96 74D3) works as a Security Incident Handler for Access…

Tech

San Jose

Peter Saugman

Costa Rica Office Operations Associate

Peter (Email: peters@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0xA5FA6FA6) is bringing extensive international work experience to Access, that spans the USA, Indonesia, Singapore, Venezuela, Belgium, Costa Rica,…

Ops

Tunis

Hassen Selmi

Tunis Incident Security Handler

Hassen (Email: hassen@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x3EF06D5C) has been a a security incident handler at Access since October 2014. He graduated from National School Of…

Tech

New York

Brett Solomon

Executive Director

Brett (Email: brett@accessnow.org; PGP Key: 0x4EDC17EB) is co-founder and Executive Director of Access (accessnow.org). Access defends and extends the digital rights of users at…

New York

Joe Steele

Director of Organizational Development and Impact

Joe (Email: joseph@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x066D312E) is responsible for supporting and organizing much of the day-to-day work of the staff, as well as overseeing…

Ops

Washington D.C.

Amie Stepanovich

U.S. Policy Manager

Amie Stepanovich (Phone Extension: +1-202-573-4721, Email: amie@accessnow.org) works to ensure that laws and policies on surveillance and cybersecurity recognize and respect human rights. At…

Policy

Washington D.C.

Carolyn Tackett

Digital Engagement Coordinator

Carolyn (Email: carolyn@accessnow.org , PGP Key: 0xA9C98C76) first joined the Access advocacy team as an intern in 2012. She now supports the team's work…

Advocacy

USA

Donna Wentworth

Strategic Communications Manager

Donna (Email: donna@accessnow.org , PGP fingerprint: 7895 1FE9 7993 57D4 5DAD 51B2 5664 4A60 077B 2130) is Strategic Communications Manager at Access Now, developing…

Advocacy

New York

Ben Whelan

Global Risk and Operations Manager

Ben (Email: ben@accessnow.org; PGP Key: 0x1F2EC60E) works as Global Risk and Operations Manager for Access, which involves opening and supporting our global offices, organization…

Ops

Washington D.C.

Nathan White

Senior Legislative Manager

Nathan White (Email: nathan@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x9030A74E) is the Senior Legislative Manager for the Access advocacy team. A former communications director in the U.S.…

Advocacy

New York

Kevin Willits

Grants Program Officer

Kevin (Email: kevinw@accessnow.org, PGP Key: 0x0657E1E7) is the Grants Program Officer for Access Now, which involves ensuring that organizations and activists working to advance…

Ops

Global

We are hiring!

See our job openings

Find out what openings we have at Access Now!

Our Board

Other Location

Andrew Cohen

Board

Andrew Cohen is a New York City-based internet entrepreneur and media executive. Today he is the CEO of Perch, an early-stage “Internet of Things”…

Other Location

Andrew McLaughlin

President

Andrew McLaughlin is a partner at betaworks, a technology and media start-up studio based in New York City. He also serves as CEO of…

New York

Brett Solomon

Executive Director

Brett (Email: brett@accessnow.org; PGP Key: 0x4EDC17EB) is co-founder and Executive Director of Access (accessnow.org). Access defends and extends the digital rights of users at…

Other Location

Esra'a Al Shafei

Board

Esra'a Al Shafei is the founder and director of Mideast Youth, a network of online platforms that amplify under-reported and marginalized voices throughout the…

Other Location

Ronaldo Lemos

Board

Ronaldo Lemos is an internationally respected Brazilian scholar and commentator on intellectual property, culture, and technology. He founded the Center for Technology & Society…

Other Location

Yvette Albderdingk Thijm

Treasurer

Yvette is the Executive Director of WITNESS, an international nonprofit organization that empowers human rights defenders to use video to fight injustice, and to…

Building Impact

  • Partnerships

  • Accreditations

  • Affiliations

Help keep the internet open and secure

Subscribe to our action alerts and weekly newsletter

Your info is secure with us.